The Shoreline Community College Library subscribes to several databases that provide access to resources not freely available on the internet, such as scholarly journal articles, streaming videos, ebooks, and more.
On this page, you will find information on
The following databases have resources in many different subjects. One Search is also a good starting point since it searches many of these databases all at once (see the One Search Basics tutorial video below for an overview of how to use this tool).
Some databases specialize in particular subjects. These databases may have subject-specific search fields that make it easier to find resources in a particular area. And some databases specialize in one type of source, such as streaming videos or ebooks.
The following databases are good starting places when looking for ebooks.
To access resources from library databases, you will need to log in with your student email address (usually firstname.lastname@go.shoreline.edu).
For issues or assistance with your Shoreline email address, submit a ticket to TSS.
Troubleshooting tips for accessing databases from off campus:
Keywords, also commonly called search terms, are the words that you enter into the database search boxes. They represent the main concepts of your research topic and are the words used in everyday life to describe the topic. Without the right keywords, you may have difficulty finding the articles that you need.
Selecting keywords is a multi-step process that involves:
It is very rare that your first search will bring back perfect results. It takes trial and error to determine which keywords work best for your topic. Be prepared to run multiple searches in your quest for the keywords that will help you find the materials you need.
Getting Too Many Irrelevant Results?
Add more search terms.
Getting Too Few Relevant Results?
Change or remove some search terms.
