Databases by Subject: Databases

Our most comprehensive collection for scholarly articles. Find magazine, newspaper, journal articles and more on a full range of topics.

from the publisher: Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street, all with a predictable annual cost. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.

Fuénte Acadmica offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.

Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.

Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.

Gale In Context: College is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Access full-text articles from over 400 peer-reviewed arts and sciences journals. JSTOR is an archival database and generally does not contain current issues – gaps range from 1 to 5 years.

This database provides full text for nearly 350 periodicals covering general reference topics, including health, science, and other areas. In addition, to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 500 periodicals. Full text backfiles go back as far as January of 1985, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games.

Get results from periodicals, books, podcasts, and more on many topics. Includes articles in foreign languages.

This database covers topics such as reading, language arts, current events, science, social studies, history, health and technology

Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more.

Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students.

Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Access to information on automotive repair: parts, diagnostic, and repairs for hundreds of makes and models. ON CAMPUS ONLY

ShopKey Pro and Vintage is for automotive repair. ON CAMPUS ONLY.

Access to over 3110 articles about business. Search by the name of a business like Nissan or Disney.

Business Source Premier is the industry's most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles, including The Harvard Business Review. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and more.

Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily.

Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.

Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Best for business schools and entrepreneurs.

Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more. Updated daily.

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Education Resources Information Resource Center (ERIC) provides free access to 1.2 million+ records of education journals and articles. Sponsored by: U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to information from journals in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966. ERIC on EBSCOHost features greater full text coverage than ERIC.ed.gov.

Gain insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Best for educators, administrators, and education students.

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.

Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily.

Access full-text articles from over 400 peer-reviewed arts and sciences journals. JSTOR is an archival database and generally does not contain current issues – gaps range from 1 to 5 years.

This database contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

Our most comprehensive collection for scholarly articles. Find magazine, newspaper, journal articles and more on a full range of topics.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers. This content is updated monthly.

This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990

PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It has over 80 psychological journals.

The most popular database for Nursing students, access to more than 610 peer-reviewed journals and full-text articles in nursing & health sciences.

Access full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices for researchers of all levels.

Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.

Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management.

Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.

Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.

This database provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names

JAMA is a peer-reviewed journal published by the American Medical Association. It features research, reviews, and editorials covering all disciplines of biomedicine. Access is to the original journal only, from 1998 to present.

MedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

58 full-text current Nursing journals.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

A service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's, additional life science journals and links to many sites with full-text articles.

Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.

Students may access this with their Shoreline username and password. A video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.

Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.

WOIS is a private, nonprofit organization that researches and distributes information about Washington careers, schools and training programs.

Use this link the fist time you log on to CIS360 (formerly known as WOIS) in order to set up your personal profile.

Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content.

Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more.

Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.

Access the most searched magazines across Gale OneFile focusing on current events, sports, science, and health issues.

Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily.

Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.

Access balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Use this link to create a free account with The New York Times so you can access it from NYTimes.com anytime, anywhere.

Includes Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, and Washington Post

Our most comprehensive collection for scholarly articles. Find magazine, newspaper, journal articles and more on a full range of topics.

This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.

An open access repository of scientific literature sponsored by Cornell University.

Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.

Access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.

Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.

Access articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology. Updated daily.

Access information on the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, catag, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Students may access this with their Shoreline username and password. A video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.

An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals, with over 10,000 entries on single substances or groups of related compounds.

Students may access this with their Shoreline email and password. The Microsoft Imagine Academy is an excellent resource for students interested in information technology or computer science. Our library does not offer assistance with this resource, but the Washington State library does have a course list and a contact email.

PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

An open access publisher of peer-reviewed medicine and biological science journals – everything is freely available to the public.

Science is a multidisciplinary journal which strives to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world. Access is to original journal only, from 1997 to present.

Since its beginnings in 1974, the aim of CultureGrams has been to foster understanding and appreciation of the world's countries and peoples by creating and publishing concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content.

The five-volume Encyclopedia of Human Rights, edited by David Forsythe, offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women's lives across the globe.

Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.

Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.

Religion & Philosophy Collection provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database includes more than 300 full text journals.