Ray W. Howard Library: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) Resources and Studies: Research Topics

Topics

For help choosing a research topic and identifying keywords and subjects, contact the Shoreline Community College Librarians. Some broad topics you may wish to explore:

Healthcare and Medicine
Gender Identity
LGBTQIA+ History
Activism
Media Representation
Laws and Legislation
Discrimination and Harassment
Homelessness
Military and Veterans Issues
Education and Policy

Additional Research Resources

Research LGBTQ+ by Subject - Library of Congress
LGBTQ Institute
Pew Research - LGBTQ Americans
LGBTQ+ Americans-Who We Are
Part of the Diversity in Government Documents guide at University of Washington, this page contains a multitude of government resources related to the history and politics of the LGBTQ+ community.

Books in SCC Library

A Queer History of the United States by Michael Bronski
Call Number: 306.766 B869

ISBN: 0807044652

Publication Date: 2011-05-10
Queer Exhibition Histories by Bas Hendrikx (Editor); Aaron Betsky (Text by); Övül Durmusoglu (Text by); Aleksandra Gajowy (Text by); Halyna Gleba (Text by)
ISBN: 9789493246133

Publication Date: 2023-10-03
Our Work Is Everywhere by Syan Rose; Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781551528151

Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Gay Seattle by Gary Atkins
Call Number: 306.766 A873

ISBN: 0295992824

Publication Date: 2013-03-01

LGBTQIA+ Archives and Histories

People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
Hosted by Fordham UniversityPeople with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people [=LGBT]. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world.
LGBT History Month
Every October, LGBT History Month celebrates the achievements of 31 lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender Icons. Each day in October, a new LGBT Icon is featured with a video, bio, bibliography, downloadable images and other resources. This site also provides resources for presentations and exhibits.
American Historical Association's Committee on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History
Founded in 1979, this Committee promotes the study of homosexuality in the past and present by facilitating communication among scholars in a variety of disciplines working on a variety of cultures.
Lesbian Herstory Archives
The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities
ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives houses the world's largest research library on Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered heritage and concerns.
The Kinsey Institue for Research in Sex, Gender, and Reproduction
The Kinsey Institute at Indiana University works towards advancing sexual health and knowledge worldwide. For over 60 years, the institute has been a trusted source for investigating and informing the world about critical issues in sex, gender and reproduction.
Sharing Our Voices - Seattle Public Library
These short films were produced as part of Sharing Our Voices, a project designed to preserve the oral histories of Seattle's distinct communities. These animated oral histories focus on the LGBTQ+ community--past, present and future.

Explore

Browse Programs

Enrollment & Aid Services

Getting Started

Campus Life Overview

Stay Connected

Student Support Services

Online Support

About Shoreline

Find Us

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) Resources and Studies: Research Topics

Topics

Additional Research Resources

Books in SCC Library

LGBTQIA+ Archives and Histories