Research can be very challenging. You might find yourself starting over or off-track, but that is all a part of the process. Here are some tips to help you stay on task and keep moving forward.
This link opens in a new windowWhat is Google? Google is a search engine. The information it provides is not organized in a specific way and most of the results from the first page are determined by popular searches or the virtual profile created from your search history.
What is a database? A database is an electronic filing system. It organizes information in a specific way that requires users to use specific keywords and search terms to find information. Databases can be subject-specific and include search filters to help narrow the results.
Does this mean Google is bad? Absolutely NOT. Google is a fast and more accessible resource which is why it is more widely used. However, it will take more skills and time to find information from a reputable source. As a librarian, I often use Google when helping students formulate a research topic, get background information, and find current events relevant to their research topic.
The library's databases are more useful for academic research and include search features that will help narrow your results. With databases, you can search by subject, author, publication, and keyword all at once. For Google, even the advanced search feature and Google Scholar are very limited in that regard. Additionally, the kinds of sources that your instructor requires (mainly scholarly sources) are not easily accessible. They cost money and being a student here at Shoreline Community College means you have free access to those sources. Google is not bad, and you do not need to use the databases exclusively. In fact, I encourage you to use both throughout your research process.
How do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication? This video will explain.
Not where to get started? Below are a few places to that could helpful. You don't have to use these databases exclusively, if prefer use a different research tool, please do so.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window